• Google Translate
  • Google Search
Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our governors' section

Introducing The Management Committee


The Management Committee members come from a variety of backgrounds and bring a wealth of individual and personal experience with representatives from local schools, the community, staff and parents.  Collectively this facilitates challenge and support to ensure the best possible provision to all our young people. 


The main business of the Management Committee is, in conjunction with the Head Teacher, to exercise a strategic role in the running of the school with emphasis on:
• pupil achievement,
• teaching and learning, behaviour,
• safeguarding & attendance, and
• leadership, management, finance, health and safety and premises.


The role of governor is voluntary. No one governor makes decisions; it is the collective responsibility of the committee. The skills, expertise and experience of individual governors are invaluable to both the effectiveness and success of the school.

“Governors are committed to the school and it's development. Governors have undertaken extensive training to enable them to better support and challenge senior staff. Governors with key responsibilities now visit regularly to scrutinise processes such as safeguarding and teaching evaluation so that they have a better understanding of the strengths and areas to be developed.” (Ofsted January 2018).

The Management Committee


  Commencement of Duties
Mark Barnett - Chair (Community) March 2018
Cayte Mulhern - Vice Chair (Community) September 2012
Katherine Eckersley - Head September 2019
Les Bell - Head   September 2012 - July 2019
David Roy - Teacher Governor     September 2016
Rebecca Collins - Community Governor     September 2015 - September 2018
Alison Harrison -  Community Governor September 2016 - June 2019
De Madgwick - Community Governor December 2017
Claire Horsfield - LA Governor (Previous Chair May 2016-March 2018) March 2018
Esther Bullock - Clerk to the Committee December 2017 - May 2019
Mark Barnett - Community Governor December 2017-March 2018
Debbie Edwards - LA Governor May 2016 - December 2017
Mike Fletcher - Community Governor January 2015 - December 2017
Georgina Thomas - Clerk to the Committee September 2012 - December 2017
Nick Parker - Clerk to the Governors May 2019
Joanne Smith - Community Governor December 2018
Deborah Jane Byatt - Community Governor April 2019
Emma Clifton - Community Governor July 2019


Parent Governors are elected by school parents annually

Teacher Governor is elected by the school staff

Community Governors can be appointed by the Management Committee


Mark Barnett - Chair of The Rubicon Centre Management Committee

I was really pleased to be asked to serve as a Governor at The Rubicon Centre. I am a retired Headteacher, Senior Adviser and Education Consultant, the majority of my career being spent in York and North Yorkshire and later on in Leeds and Middlesbrough. I spent 40 years in Education, 10 years as a teacher and then as a Headteacher of Primary and Pupil Referral Schools, both Primary and Secondary. I have specialised in behavioural, emotional and social issues that may hold students back from reaching their full potential.


As a Senior Adviser in York I was responsible for merging schools and improving standards in teaching and learning. As an Education Consultant, I worked in many schools when called upon to do so. Children and students never ceased to amaze me with their desire to learn and sometimes their desire not to learn!


At present I am the voluntary Project Manager of the Selby & District Foodbank, a community role I thoroughly enjoy.


Cayte Mulhern - Vice Chair of The Rubicon Centre Management Committee

Cayte is the Deputy Headteacher at Tadcaster High School. Cayte has been a member of the management committee at The Rubicon Centre since the school opened in 2012. Cayte comes with expertise in education, safeguarding, care, guidance and alternative educational experience.

David Roy - School representative on the Management Committee

David is the school representative on the management committee, he joined the school in 2013 and has been the lead for Science. David has worked in secondary schools in the north west and previously in the civil service and the armed forces.

Delia Madgwick . B.Ed Hons Exeter Uni. Post grad. Dramatherapy. State Registered Dramatherapist

 I have recently taken up the post of School Governor at the Rubicon having spent three years working here as a dramatherapist. 

I originally trained as a drama and art teacher and taught for many years both in this country and abroad .After further training as a dramatherapist I worked in behavioural management in various schools in N .Yorkshire, and as a therapist in adult mental health. I have run drama projects for all ages and worked for the Home Office as a freelance therapist. 
I retired from  employment in July 2017 and am delighted to remain in close contact with the Rubicon in my new role as community governor.





Additional representatives


Mandy Carrington - Office Manager                                                              

Minutes of Management Committee Meetings

If you would like to view the minutes of the Management Committee meetings these can be obtained on request from the school office (Mandy Carrington - Office Manager)

Individual Attendance Record of Governors - September 2015 - December 2017
Community Member C Mulhern 10/12
Community Member R Collins 6/12
Parent Member TBC  
Community Member A Harrison (From 09/2016) 6/6
Community Member D Madgwick 1/1
Community Member M Barnett 1/1
Resigned Member M Fletcher 4/9
Resigned Member D Edwards 5/5
LIA Link Advisor J Cave 1/1
Local authority member C Horsfield (As chair until March 2018) 10/12
Staff Appointed Member D Roy 8/8
Staff Member (Headteacher) L Bell 12/12
Resigned Member

A Harrison (to 07/2016) - Now a Community Member

Resigned Member S Taylor 0/3
Resigned Member

J Summers

Resigned Member F Butterfield 0